HomeDa Birds NewsJalen Carter selected as one of the finalists for AP Defensive Rookie...

Jalen Carter selected as one of the finalists for AP Defensive Rookie of the Year

Published on


The NFL and The Associated Press have announced the finalists for their annual awards for the 2023 NFL season. Lamar Jackson, Christian McCaffrey, and Dak Prescott have been named as finalists for The Associated Press 2023 NFL Most Valuable Player and Offensive Player of the Year awards, while Jalen Carter has been recognized as a finalist for the AP Defensive Rookie of the Year award.

A nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the league completed voting before the playoffs began. The award winners will be announced at NFL Honors presented by Invisalign, an Align Technology brand, on Thursday, Feb. 8 at the Resorts World Theatre in Las Vegas.

The nominees for the NFL’s 2023 Most Valuable Player and Offensive Player of the Year awards were chosen based on their outstanding performances during the 2023 season. Lamar Jackson, the 2019 NFL MVP, led the Baltimore Ravens to a strong record of 14-4, the best in the league, and made significant contributions to his team’s playoff success. Jackson was recognized for his impressive stats, throwing for 3,678 yards and 24 touchdowns and also running for 821 yards and five scores. He was the top choice for 45 of the 50 votes for the AP first-team All-Pro.

The NFL Honors program, which is the league’s primetime awards special, will air live at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT on the CBS Television Network and NFL Network. It will also be streaming live on Paramount+ and NFL+. However, the program may not be televised live in all time zones.

The full list of awards and finalists include:

• Josh Allen, Buffalo Bills
• Lamar Jackson, Baltimore Ravens
• Christian McCaffrey, San Francisco 49ers
• Dak Prescott, Dallas Cowboys
• Brock Purdy, San Francisco 49ers

The nominees for the AP Coach of the Year award include:

• Dan Campbell, Detroit Lions
• John Harbaugh, Baltimore Ravens
• DeMeco Ryans, Houston Texans
• Kyle Shanahan, San Francisco 49ers
• Kevin Stefanski, Cleveland Browns

The finalists for the AP Offensive Rookie of the Year award are:

• DaRon Bland, Dallas Cowboys
• Maxx Crosby, Las Vegas Raiders
• Myles Garrett, Cleveland Browns
• Micah Parsons, Dallas Cowboys
• T.J. Watt, Pittsburgh Steelers

The nominees for the AP Comeback Player of the Year award include:

• Joe Flacco, Cleveland Browns
• Damar Hamlin, Buffalo Bills
• Baker Mayfield, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
• Matthew Stafford, Los Angeles Rams
• Tua Tagovailoa, Miami Dolphins

The finalists for the AP Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year awards are:

• Tyreek Hill, Miami Dolphins
• Lamar Jackson, Baltimore Ravens
• CeeDee Lamb, Dallas Cowboys
• Christian McCaffrey, San Francisco 49ers
• Dak Prescott, Dallas Cowboys
• Will Anderson, Houston Texans
• Jalen Carter, Philadelphia Eagles
• Joey Porter Jr., Pittsburgh Steelers
• Kobie Turner, Los Angeles Rams
• Devon Witherspoon, Seattle Seahawks

These outstanding individuals have proven their capabilities and demonstrated exceptional skills throughout the 2023 NFL season, leading their teams to success and displaying high levels of talent in their respective positions.

The nominees for the AP Offensive and Defensive Coordinator of the Year awards are:

• Ben Johnson, Detroit Lions
• Mike Macdonald, Baltimore Ravens
• Todd Monken, Baltimore Ravens
• Jim Schwartz, Cleveland Browns
• Bobby Slowik, Houston Texans
Oct 22, 2023; Baltimore, Maryland, USA; Detroit Lions running back Jahmyr Gibbs (26) cuts as Baltimore Ravens linebacker Roquan Smith (0) defends during the second half at M&T Bank Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports Jahmyr Gibbs, Detroit Lions
• Sam LaPorta, Detroit Lions
• Puka Nacua, Los Angeles Rams
• Bijan Robinson, Atlanta Falcons
• C.J. Stroud, Houston Texans

These finalists are recognized for their contributions as coaches, guiding their players and teams to success throughout the season with strategic guidance and leadership.

NFL fans can look forward to the exciting awards ceremony on February 8, where the winners of the prestigious AP awards for the 2023 NFL season will be announced, celebrating the outstanding achievements and contributions of these remarkable individuals and their teams.

Latest articles

Lions Exploring Kicker Options

Since the departure of Matt Prater following the 2020 NFL season, the Lions have...

Potential Trade Target: Tennessee Titans Wide Receiver Treylon Burks

Just about a year ago, the Titans expressed contentment with their wide receiver group...

The most recent news about the Steelers’ offensive line

The Steelers offensive line performed well in 2023, ranking ninth in sacks allowed and...

J.J. McCarthy, Rome Odunze added to the teams of Bears, Lions, Vikings

Bears Bears first-round WR Rome Odunze spoke about his relationship with first-round QB Caleb Williams...

More like this

ESPN Recommends a Defensive Line Addition for the Philadelphia Eagles

The Philadelphia Eagles have been making some moves and have been linked to potential...

Apps for Sports Betting Now Available in North Carolina

The NASCAR spotlight will shine on the Tar Heel State for the second straight...

Getting to Know Eagles’ Rookie Johnny Wilson: 6 Key Facts

In the 2024 NFL Draft, the Philadelphia Eagles bolstered their receiving corps...